if i stare at the screen long enough will an idea come to me?

I’m having a tough time coming up with ideas for posts…and we’re only half way there. When something of note happens throughout the day it makes it a lot easier. I guess that means I had a boring day? But I didn’t.

I slept in. Read some books with the kids. Had some breakfast. Went to a craft fair while the kids and Greg played at the park. Joined them in the park. Went grocery shopping with the whole family. Had a yummy lunch at home. Put a very tired girl down for her nap. Checked my email. Retrieved a still-very-tired girl from a 30-minute nap and convinced her to go to sleep again. Worked. Made dinner. Played with the kids. Ate dinner. Played with the kids. Put the kids to bed. Entered into a bad mood. Worked. Blogged (albeit pathetically).

That’s all you’re gonna get for today.

i bit my tongue

Amy does not like getting dressed in the morning. This past week I tried a new tactic. Twice she was VERY displeased with a shirt I was trying to put on her, so I suggested she go get another one from her drawer. She did this willingly, and getting the shirt of her choice on her was easier. I wouldn’t say it was straightforward, but at least she wasn’t screaming bloody murder and pulling it in every direction but on.

Before I go further, let me say that I enjoy getting both my kids dressed, or more accurately I enjoy the end result. They both have some really nice clothes, thanks to hand-me-downs from generous friends, and I will fully admit that it pleases me to see them looking nice.

This morning I picked out an outfit for Amy and put her shirt on. It was a bit of a fight, but we got it on. Then I stopped and gave her a break before tackling the pants. The shirt was a nice red long-sleeved onesie and the pants were jeans with some pretty red flowers embroidered on them.

I got sidetracked by some other getting-ready task, and it ended up being Greg who was in charge of pants. Amy put her foot down and refused to wear the jeans, and instead picked another pair of pants she’d been carrying around with her all morning. A pair of navy blue cotton ones with pink, turquoise and white dragonflies. Really cute pants that definitely DID not go with her red shirt. And I don’t fault Greg for the result…Amy can be pretty darn stubborn.

I knew that trying to get her into pants that matched was a stupid battle, and I didn’t fight it. But it did bother me. I am reasonable enough to tell myself that it shouldn’t, but it did. But I’m proud of the fact that she left the house dressed in what she wanted to wear.

And I’m even prouder of the fact that when I grabbed socks for her, I purposely picked socks that didn’t match her shirt or her pants.

losin’ my religion

The daycare that Elliot and Amy go to has a mission statement, and it says, in part, The mission of the Children’s Programs is to manifest the love of Jesus Christ by providing for each child’s spiritual development. There is more to it but it’s your standard childcare stuff — providing children with a safe environment, providing developmentally appropriate challenges, etc.

So yes…our children are going to a Christian-based daycare. Most, if not all, of the caregivers are Christian, and they say Grace before lunch and learn about God, Jesus and a lot of stuff that Greg and I are embarrassingly ignorant (and, let’s be honest here, skeptical) about .

A few days ago Elliot was telling me about how bones came from dust, and I’m pretty sure he was referring to God and his creation of Adam and Eve. And tonight at dinner, after he said Grace, he asked us if we knew that God lived in the sky. And then after dinner, he started singing a song that had “Jesus” and “king” as part of the lyrics.

Our kids are only going to be at this daycare until they are five, and I could just let this all roll off my back and smile and nod my head when Elliot (and soon Amy) come home with religious tidbits like these. But part of me wants to take this opportunity to teach them a bit about awareness and acceptance of different beliefs, while at the same time ensuring they don’t march into daycare one day and announce that God doesn’t exist.

I thought I’d look around for some children’s books about religion and see if there’s something out there that will help us figure out how to talk to our kids about religion. I’m sure there is, and it’s probably called “The Berenstain Bears Find Religion”. (Okay, I was joking, but I just did a quick google search, and apparently they have multiple books about religion.)

But I want to find something that talks about more than just Christianity. Because if I’m going to do this, it seems logical that I should include the other prevalent religions around the world. And it’ll be a learning experience for Greg and I as well.

short and sweet

Taking an idea from yesterday’s post, here are 10 things I no longer do. The actual blog post idea was 10 things I can no longer do, but I’ve altered it a bit to broaden the range. Because really, I could do one or two of them still. I just choose not to.

1. Have a nap every weekend.
2. Touch my toes.
3. Calculus.
4. Talk to my grandparents.
5. Eat Cheez Whiz.
6. Listen to The Q.
7. Hug the first and only puppy I raised as an adult.
8. A cartwheel.
9. Read trashy romance novels.
10. Sleep with socks on.

the best age

I really struggled for a post idea tonight. I even googled “blog post ideas”, and wow. There are a LOT of sites devoted to giving people ideas for blog posts. My favourite was this one. A few of my favourites from the site:

  • Ten things you can’t do anymore. (I might actually use this one in a future post.)
  • Host a carnival. (WTF?)
  • Write down every random thought that comes to mind. (Tempting…)
  • Promote world peace; make concrete recommendations to get there. (I’m sure me and my four readers can achieve this one.)

But I had another idea. I went back to my NaBloPoMo post from this day last year to see if it would give me any ideas. And it did. I think back to a year ago when Amy was still nursing and we were changing diapers every 90 minutes and it was a huge scramble to get out of the house, and I don’t miss it. Sure it’s still a (somewhat smaller) scramble to get out of the house and we’re still changing diapers, and Elliot has meltdowns and Amy doesn’t like to get dressed in the mornings, but for the most part I love it. I love the phrases that come out of Elliot’s mouth, I love the interactions I see between the kids and I love how Amy hams it up for us.

Just tonight I jokingly asked Elliot to put Amy to bed for us because Greg and I are both feeling under the weather, and he agreed. But he told me he couldn’t put her into her crib — we’d have to do that. About half an hour later Greg and I had both forgotten this conversation, and Greg put Amy into her pajamas. Elliot came into the room and was very disappointed that he didn’t get her into her jammies. So we got him to put her sleep sack on, and she stood perfectly still while he did it, and then he read her a book. We read a couple of more books together and then once she was in her crib, Elliot sang to her the “good night song he learned from daycare”, all by himself. He was the last one to walk out of her room, and he gently closed the door behind him.

A good friend of mine who has a young teenage daughter once told me that every age has been her favourite age so far. I’m not sure I am going to make that statement because I have to admit that three has had some hard stretches, but I hope I can get close to it.

mask alert

I went for my H1N1 vaccination today. I’m not feeling very good, but it seems to just be a cold so my doctor went ahead an gave me the shot. On the door to her office there’s a sign next to a stack of masks asking patients to put on a mask if they have cold or flu symptoms. Since I’m coughing a bit, I grabbed a mask and put it on. Then walked into the waiting room. It was full, so I sat down in the chair nearest to me. The poor woman beside me physically recoiled at the sight of someone in a mask sitting beside her. I felt bad, and probably should have told her I just have a cold, but instead I stuck my head in my book and ignored the stares. Thankfully (for everyone) I didn’t have to wait long.

The shot didn’t hurt at all (didn’t even know she’d done it), but my arm sure hurts now. I’m surprised my kids didn’t complain about it when they got their shots. Elliot just barely bumped it tonight, and it sent shooting pain down to my elbow. I think I’ll be sleeping on my left side tonight.

so far today

Greg and the kids are in Nanaimo for the day. Elliot’s been up there since Thursday and Greg and Amy headed out around 9:30 this morning. I decided I’d stay home and do some house stuff. I’m feeling rather crappy so I’d rather just be doing nothing, but I have persevered. So far, anyway. It’s only 1:30 and I’m actually going to have a nap after I post this. Hopefully I’ll wake up with some more energy.

I’ve accomplished quite a bit so far. First up was the laundry room. It’s become one of our dumping grounds for items that don’t have a home. I took pretty much everything out of it, swept the floor, and then started putting some of the stuff back. I was also able to store a few things in the crawl space (our crawl space was under water last year during the heavy rains so storage down there is pretty limited). Everything else is either destined for donation or for Used Victoria, and I moved it all to the office. I’m hoping that now it’s in our face a bit more Greg and I will actually do something about it. Anyone want a TV? We have two to get rid of!

I then unpacked three boxes that were from our move 11 MONTHS AGO, and that sure was satisfying. We still have a couple more to unpack, but we’re close.

While Amy and I were up earlier this morning I made some apple sauce out of the apples that were left on our tree. Unfortunately there weren’t many as the deer, squirrels and birds have had a feast. I made six jars and they are now in the freezer. My kids won’t eat it but I’ve got a good muffin recipe that uses apple sauce, so it’ll get used.

I swept the basement floor.

I did the shredding.

I’ve done four loads of laundry, and almost all of it has been put away already. I’m just waiting on my flannel sheet and duvet so I can put them on my bed and have a cozy nap.

Later this afternoon I hope to clean the kitchen, organize the kids’ rooms and tidy up the rest of the house a bit. Not sure I’ll have time for all that.

And then I may just treat myself to dinner out.

an open evening

I’m trying to figure out what to do tonight. My original plan was to scrapbook, but I’m not feeling all that great and hence not all that inspired. I could sit on the couch and watch tv, but I doubt there is anything good on. I could read, but I don’t really feel like it. I could work, which I actually kind of feel like doing as the work I have to do is fun, but it doesn’t really need to be done. This gets me back to the scrapbooking. I’ve almost finished Amy’s scrapbook (I’ve done one for each child, documenting their first year); all I need to do is a bit of journaling. I’ve been putting it off because I do it on the computer which means there’s some logistics required in measuring the space I’ve left in the scrapbook, formatting a Word document so that it’s the same size, what I want to write, what font, etc.

I think the reason for me writing this post (other than to check off November 7th as “done”) is to say I’m going to do the journaling for Amy’s scrapbook. There. I said it. Now I have to do it.

UPDATE:
Okay, it took me three hours, but the journaling is done. It’s definitely not my favourite part of scrapbooking, but it does come with a bonus. I get my content from old blog posts, and it’s fun to read back over stuff Greg and I have written. And it makes me thankful that we have both taken the time to chronicle our kids’ lives.

short post about a short run

I went for a run this morning with Yoshi in the pouring rain. We went to Thetis so most of it was in the trees. Although I’m not sure that’s any better, as instead of getting rained on consistently with small drops, you get pelted erratically with large drops from the trees. The last five minutes of the run was out in the open a bit more, and that coincided with the downpour turning into a torrential downpour. We were both dripping when we got to the car, and Yoshi was more than happy to jump in and get toweled off.

Yoshi can still keep up with me for a 5 km run, but he doesn’t bolt ahead like he used to. I dread the day when I have to leave him at home.

ladies night

Tonight is Ladies Night. Almost four years ago I decided I’d had enough of not seeing some of my closest friends, and started up a monthly get together on the first Thursday of each month. It was well received, and we’ve kept it going. There are nine people on my distribution list (used to be ten but we lost one to the damn military last year…hope to have her back next year), and we usually have at least three or four come out each month. We’ve had a few slumps (like recently), but I’d say we’ve done quite well. Unlike some other people in our lives…who we won’t mention.

We started out going to the Ross Bay Pub, but it’s not the nicest pub, and doesn’t have the greatest menu. We toyed with going to a new place each month, but decided that would get too complicated. So we settled (okay, someone suggested it and I thought it was a good idea) on the lounge above Ferris’. It has served us well.

We drink martinis, wine and cider, eat oysters and brownies, and reconnect.

I love it.